Triggers and Labels, Swings and Roundabouts

28 Mar

Many binge-eaters have particular danger times, when they are more susceptible to succumbing to the Binge Monster. The weekend is a particular difficult time for me in terms of binging. Week in week out, I followed the same pattern of binging on one or two nights at the weekend, and then spending the rest of the week following a strict low-calorie eating plan to try to make up for the thousands of excess calories ingested.

But punishing myself after a binge would only work to feed into the vicious binge-restrict cycle. By the time the next weekend would come around, I’d feel so deprived that I’d be compelled to binge again. Or I would feel that I had been so “good” during the week, that I deserved some “naughty” food. Cue, binge session.

Last weekend was a great success for me, not just because I didn’t binge, but because I didn’t feel the need to binge. Admittedly, I didn’t feel the desire to eat any of my usual trigger foods (i.e. chocolate, biscuits, ice-cream), so I am taking my little success with a pinch of proverbial salt.

Intuitive eating is all about removing the labels from food, which means not thinking of any foods as “good” or “bad”, but I am having a bit of a difficult time with this. I am finding it hard not to label my trigger foods as “bad”, because I know that they have initiated binges more often than not in the recent past.

Intuitive eating is about satisfying your cravings, and eating what you want (in moderation), when you are hungry. But, to be completely honest, most of the time I am afraid to satisfy my cravings when they arise, just in case I am compelled to binge.  I know that removing these labels is one of the things that I need to work on in order to become a true Mindful Muncher…

Leave a Reply

